Green Party Canada: Advance Polls and the Youth Vote.

Green Advanced Polls

Green Advanced Polls

This post addresses two seperate themes. The local SGI campaign to elect Elizabeth May to Parliament, and the National Campaign’s progress. Over the last week or so, I have been pleasantly surprised by some potentially effective campaign initiatives being implemented by the National Campaign. Somebody in Ottawa actually knows what they are about, and are getting stuff done that is going to get out the vote for the Green Party of Canada.

The Green Party of Canada is actually campaigning on two fronts. The first, and publicly stated ‘overarching’ objective is to get Elizabeth May elected to Parliament in SGI. I blogged on the decision to run in SGI waaay back in July 2009. It is clear that in order to win in SGI a significant chunk of voters, (3,000 votes minimum) will need to be poached directly from Gary Lunn’s Conservative support. In order for this to happen, the SGI campaign will need to broadcast a Conservative friendly message, and the National air war (media coverage) will need to reinforce these specific themes. The other side of the coin is that the Conservative vote in SGI will need to be suppressed a bit, and die-hard Conservative voters will need to be persuaded to stay at home on E-Day. Since a large proportion of people vote by Party affiliation, and their loyalties, (especially Conservative voters) are fixed, the easiest way to keep them at home is to convince them that the Candidate is not worthy of their vote. That means directly attacking the record, and character of Gary Lunn.

So why am I pleasantly surprised? First off, the GPC platform is once again promoting fiscally conservative policies. That is a given, and for people who actually read Party platforms, it will continue to shake peoples pre-conceived notion that the Greens are a left wing Party. The National camaign has been issueing media releases that speak to conservative voters. What do I mean?, well here’s some examples like a sort-of endorsement by Joe Clarke, Paul Martin, and Brian Mulroney.

Then there is the ‘Dark Side’, with media events like the joint Linda Keen/Elizabeth May press conference setting the stage to slag the incumbent, Gary Lunn’s handling of Nuclear Safety, and his subsequent demotion. It is ‘revalations’ like this that establish, and build on public perception of the Incumbent that will get some of those die-hard Tory voters to stay at home.

There are numerous sprinklings of very SGI specific media releases coming out of the National Office, which is a real bonus for any local Campaign. After all, people expect to read about the local Candidates and issues in the local village rag, but when the Globe and Mail, or CTV are talking about their issues, with Elizabeth May’s name attached, it packs about a million times the punch.

Then there is something unprecedented that popped into my inbox last week. I received an email from the National Campaign, which I can only assume was recieved by the entire contact lists. The email encouraged me to join a national effort to ID the vote in SGI through the virtual phone bank. It is unprecedented during a national election, because normally one would expect Green Party members and supporters to be working diligently on their local campaign. Since there is a decided lack of effective local Campaigns, why not serve the primary objective and put hundreds of people to work building the E-Day database for SGI?

Now I do not know how effectively the SGI campaign is using these tools. I do not believe they will win, because it was such an uphill battle, but IF they are re-canvassing the undecideds right now, making conversion pitches with targetted electors, and highlighting negative aspects of Gary Lunn’s record, they will be on track to pull off an upset. I am pretty solidly on the record in opposing this single minded focus on Elizabeth May, but there is still the possibility that she may retrieve her career as leader of the Green Party, and put the puck in the net on eday.

Now the second reason I am encouraged has implications for the other  303 campaigns. (The Party came up short on the full slate). Back in July 2009, I blogged on the youth vote, and the importance of maximising turnouts amongst the demographic most inclined to vote Green. I wasn’t joking when I said it would be very difficult, but I still believe that my analysis was spot on. Collecting contact information, and then associating the act of voting with FUN is a good starting point. Since younger voters primarily get their information online, end-running the traditional broadcast and print media is critical to presenting any effective message whatsoever to the under 25 set. I have also posted repeatedly on the under used opportunity of the Advance Polls, and just how important it is to get the GPC vote in the bag before the big drop off in support in the final week of the campaign.

There has been a consistent attempt to enhance the online presence of the GPC, and some pretty nifty looking tools are being rolled out. For a couple of weeks at the beginning of the campaign, every time I googled a topic related to the election, there was a GPC adwords advertisement presented. Very good targetting in my opinion. I do not know how much the GPC is paying for the clickthrough, but it is obvious that drawing people to the website, and collecting information about them is critical to the short term electoral goal of getting out more voters. The GPC should NOT be wasting money broadcasting impressions to the general population. You have to pay for every broadcast impression, and too few of the general population are prospective supporters. IF you are paying to reach out, then only paying when you actually connect, (adword clickthroughs), or targetting the message at a more recpetive audience, (Radio and direct marketing) are a much better use of scarce resources.

Last week, the GPC unveiled a new iphones app to help Greens connect. Now I do not think it took fire virally or anything, but this is an interesting tool for getting out the vote, and it will have a dis-proportionate impact on youthful voters. I imagine this was expected to support the big GOTV push for getting out the under 25’s. We have all seen and heard about Vote Mobs on Campus, well it is no surprise that the organisation and execution of these fun and engaging events was helped by the Green Party campus organisations. The National Campaign has also made a genuine effort to get out the vote to the advance polls. When I saw this video prominently featured on the home page of the GPC site, what I saw was a message that purports to make voting fun. It will be very difficult to push it out into the public space, because there are so few activists campaigning locally, but the direction, and intent are very sound indeed. Call this the test, and the next election will hold the opportunity to learn from WHY it did not work as hoped, and make the improvements that will make it work in the future.

And then, to cap it off, I was actually robo-dialled with an advance poll GOTV message from Elizabeth May this morning. It may not seem like rocket science that in the total absence of a volunteer base in most of the country, the National Campaign should be taking such measures to get out the vote. You must believe me though, this is unprecedented for the National Party. I remember well the scorn I recieved when I used robo-diallers to GOTV for Elizabeth May’s by-election campaign in London North Centre. Well it appears that the disdain from on high has been overcome, and a useful little direct communications tool has been incorporated into the National Campaign arsenal. Not only that, but the fact that any resources whatsoever were dedicated to GOTV for the advance polls indicates that a realisation of the significance of the classic GPC death spiral in the last week of a campaign, and the need to counteract it has taken root somewhere at a decision making level.

So there it is, and here we are. I still think that the Leadership of the Green Party has failed the Party by ignoring the need to organise, recruit, and build more and more effective local campaigns. I do not think that the type of issues research that allows really effective campaign messages to be crafted has been undertaken, so the messaging is pretty unsophisticated, and hit and miss. But given the strategic direction that the Leadership has decided to take, of electing Elizabeth May at any cost, the National Campaign team has done pretty well given the limitations that poor organisation have imposed. Will it succeed? We will find out in a little more than a week.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

33 Responses

  1. Magnificent website. Lots of useful information here. I am sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks on your sweat!

  2. Hello. Spotted this on twitter just now (via NeilJEdmondson rt’d by ymmbruce on #cdnpoli): a Blogging Tory blog post based on this, which they’re using to say Elizabeth May’s a hypocrite for speaking against robocalls, & of course to question whether it could only be the CPC & CIMS behind the rogue calls

    http://paulsrants-paulsstuff.blogspot.com/2012/03/green-party-of-canada-election-tactics.html

  3. I tried viewing your web site on my cellphone and the design doesnt seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not really working with your website.

  4. Oh man. This blog site is sick. How can I make it look like this !

  5. I experimented with taking a look at your website in my new iphone 4 and the layout does not seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellular phone layouts are not really working with your web page.

  6. How did you make a blog look this cool! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

  7. I have got 1 recommendation for your blog site. It looks like right now there are a few cascading stylesheet troubles while opening a selection of web pages inside google chrome as well as firefox. It is operating alright in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  8. Many of the comments on this particular blog page dont make sense.

  9. Fantastic Stuff, do you currently have a twitter account?

  10. Have you considered including some social bookmarking buttons to these sites. At the very least for bebo.

  11. It seems to me that this website doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the exact same problem? I like this website and dont want to have to miss it whenever Im gone from my computer.

  12. How did you make this blog site look this sick!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative.

  13. Nearly all of the comments on this particular site dont make sense.

  14. I think one of your ads caused my internet browser to resize, you might well want to place that on your blacklist.

  15. Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed is not working today. I tried adding it to my Bing reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  16. When I open up your Rss feed it appears to be a ton of junk, is the issue on my part?

  17. Amazing article, cheers, I will visit again soon!

  18. surprisingly useful material, all in all I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks a lot

  19. Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy comments on this page. Have you at any time believed about attempting to eliminate them or installing a tool?

  20. Hello, I just hopped over to your webpage using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would normally browse, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for creating some thing worthy of reading through.

  21. Re: Whoever made the statement that this was a great web site actually needs to possess their brain reviewed.

  22. Cool post . Thank you for, writing on my blog dude! I shall email you soon! I didnt know that!

  23. After I open up your Feed it seems to be a lot of nonsense, is the problem on my part?

  24. If you dont mind, where do you host your web page? I am looking for a very good host and your blog appears to be quick and up just about all the time

  25. Oh man! This blog is amazing. How can I make it look like this !?

  26. Wow. This website is awesome. How can I make it look this good !?

  27. How did you make this site look this sick!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative!

  28. Mate. This blog is amazing! How did you make it look this good .

  29. I was curious about if you ever considered switching the layout of your web site? It is well written; I enjoy what youve got to say. But maybe you could add a a bit more in the way of written content so people can connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  30. Is it alright to put a portion of this on my personal webpage if perhaps I publish a reference point to this web page?

  31. I like this blog layout ! How do you make it. It is very good.

  32. Heya, I just hopped over to your site thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually read, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for creating some thing well worth reading.

  33. After I start your Feed it appears to be to be a lot of junk, is the issue on my side?

Leave a comment