Green Party Canada unofficial aggregator, and Forum goes live

Hi folks,

Green Forum Logo

Green Forum Logo

So it’s officially unofficial now. Dave Bagler graciously put up a public forum for Green Party types to play in. The beauty is that it is outside the official Party’s control, so you don’t need to bite your tongue, or worry about being critical. Go right ahead, and let it all hang out. It’s brand spanking new, so don’t be alarmed at the lack of content. Just join and add your own. Go ahead and check it out here:

Green Spaces Forum

The aggregator is already up and running. Again, it is completely unofficial, so i guess it is an alternate to the members only blogs at the Green Party site. I guess I can comment in passing that the GPC has gotten mighty controlling haven’t they? The forums are not public, which is pretty dense, seeing as there is nothing likely to be said that really needs to be kept secret.  I don’t know if anything interesting happens there or not, because as a lapsed member, I don’t have permission to go. It’s not much of an advertisement about the vibrant discourse within the Party to keep the great unwashed out.

And how about those GPC blogs, eh? They are damned ugly. Mostly unrelieved by photo’s, or any graphics elements. Basically just a method of capturing free content, and generating captive traffic to help sell Elizabeth May books. Not a bad thing all told, but I’m happy enough blogging for the whole country to see, not just Green Party membership.

Anyhow, check them out, and let me know what you think.

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Furl | Newsvine

15 Responses

  1. […] Green Party Canada unofficial aggregator, and Forum goes live … […]

  2. Hey, this is great! About time we had a home. :-)

    I envision Canadian Green Bloggers to be like Progressive Bloggers, such that it will attract members from all parties and the non-partisan alike.

  3. Er, it would be nice to have a tiny badge to add to our websites, for those of us who have multiple affiliations. See my blog’s home page to see what I mean. The current one for CGB is too large for my taste and it would be nice to have options.

  4. What are the rules? Can you be non-aligned (like myself) but green and join?

  5. “…Basically just a method of capturing free content, and generating captive traffic to help sell Elizabeth May books…”

    Seriously? That’s pretty hostile. There are some bloggers at the GPC site that appreciate and make use of the opportunity to contribute ideas.

    The federal party site hosts blogs for party members to use and share ideas with eachother. Maybe other federal parties do that as well, but I’m not so sure.

    I like the GPC blog site, though I agree with you that some pretty graphics might be nice. That’s a fair comment.

    ;-)

  6. Good stuff bluegreenblogger. I am looking forward to joining the forum and contributing my thoughts and knowledge. You and readers may or may not know (I don’t know your secret identity ;) that I have worked for the past 14 months for the GPC and have had positions including the Assistant to the National Campaign Manager and having had the privilege to take the minutes for the Federal Campaign Committee and its heir, the Campaign Committee. I also worked on a number of campaigns including Mike Nagy’s and Mike Schreiner’s GPO campaign.

    I contributed a lot to the GPC blogging site (and I often included photos), but for many of the same frustrations I assume you feel, also created my own site, kerstenskolumn.wordpress.com. I also am dedicated to transparency and respect for the diversity of opinion. It was frustrating to see good bloggers come and go so often.

    I hope this forum is a place where we can have a secure and honourable dialogue where people feel comfortable in sharing their diversity of opinions, myself including.

    I appreciate your commitment to transparency and all of your work on this blog site, which many of us read regularly. I look forward to sharing my experience and knowledge in the forum with solid rational political minds like your own.

  7. “…I hope this forum is a place where we can have a secure and honourable dialogue where people feel comfortable in sharing their diversity of opinions, myself including.

    I appreciate your commitment to transparency and all of your work on this blog site…”

    Well said Mark. I forgot to add something to that effect.

  8. Hi Tidewaters,
    I agree that the banner/button is way too big, and ugly too. Maybe somebody will read this and design a nice little one? For the Forum as well?
    Hi Mark F. Why not? If you’ve got interesting stuff to say, and I think you do, then maybe we’ll entice you back into the ‘fold’ (In a wider sense I guess, myself currently being outside the GPC fold.)
    Hi Cam, thanks for the comment,
    I guess it was a little harsh, but the GPC website does rather seem to be about Elizabeth, No? They should have more interesting stuff going on there, and the graphics, and the look and feel, should grab you. Somehow it doesn’t grab me, although it’s great that members can easily blog.
    Thanks for the kudo’s Mark K. As far as diversity, how else are we to learn? Echo chambers are not my cup of tea. I look forward to forum as well.
    It looks like this will be appreciated by all.

  9. I shall add the aggregator to my daily tour…
    Meanwhile just one small comment, those “ugly” blogs and web pages “unrelieved by photo’s, or any graphics elements.” are a major bonus for those of us on dial up. Keep the bells and whistles to a minimum guys if you want to be all inclusive.

  10. I shall add the aggregator to my daily tour…
    Meanwhile just one small comment, those “ugly” blogs and web pages “unrelieved by photo’s, or any graphics elements.” are a major bonus for those of us on dial up. Keep the bells and whistles to a minimum guys if you want to be all inclusive.
    P.S. – Sorry, forgot to tell you great post!

  11. I signed up. Excited to have a chance for open dialogue, which is the vision Rural and I have on our democracy blog (www.democracyunderfire.blogspot.com). When push comes to shove, open, democratic dialogue is the most important thing we can do for ourselves and our living planet. Political ideology, even when it’s Green, can’t take us very far without the entire community coming together to work on solutions for problems which have never been experienced by human beings before (and of course, many of which we have never stopped experiencing so require completely new approaches ala the definition of insanity; doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.)

  12. Will keep my eye on the site. Don’t have any time to play right now (work, school, business) but hope to play later.
    Nice to have a site where Greens can be reminded of their core values (things Green parties frequently forget).

  13. Apparently, the new aggregator is only for Green blogs, not more widely open to green ones. :-( Ergo, Challenging the Commonplace had to go bye-bye.

  14. О настоящих чувствах много рассказано в нашем ярком мире. Однако любовь в кинолентах – проявление того настоящего чувствах, о котором рассуждают люди разных полов и возрастов. Действительно, порой увидишь мелодраматическию историю на большом экране и задумываешься есть ли любовь на самом деле…

  15. Параллельно с ростом скелета происходит рост и развитие мышц. Функция всегда отстает от структуры, которая за нее отвечает, рост мышц не успевает за ростом скелета (руки-палки), а рост нервных окончаний и кровеносных сосудов не успевает за ростом мышц, отсюда – некоординированность движений, неуклюжесть подростков

Leave a Reply

