Green Party 2008 Election Results. Win or Loss?

Green Party win or loss?

Green Party win or loss?

I just picked up the validated results from the Elections Canada Website. I didn’t bother sorting out the judicial recounts etc. but the total Green Party vote was 937,643 ballots from a total of 13,719,113 ballots cast. That adds up to 6.83% of the vote.

I guess that looks like a win compared to the 2006 election, because the vote count went up from 664,068, and 4.5%. The GPC funding moves from about $1.3 million to around $1.8 million per annum, plus when the next election hits the GPC will get the same amount to fund the next election, as soon as the writ is dropped. Given the past financial straits of the party, (they were essentially broke when Elizabeth May took over), this shot in the arm, when married to the newfound fundraising prowess means they should be solvent. Solvency will depend on retiring their debts, and prudent budgetting, but lets just assume they’ll manage that OK?

The loss part is based upon the hard and pointy fact that expectations were raised to an unreasonable level. The public was repeatedly informed that the GPC would win seats. There was a whack of media attention, the debate participation, public statements by the leader, and spokespersons. There was no obvious plan to actually make seat wins happen though.

It was more than conceivable that seats could be won. Recruiting a few excellent candidates for potentially winnable ridings would have been a starting point. Follow that by pre-election organising in said potentially winnable ridings. Hire some real campaign managers, and communications people, lend staffers to the breakthrough targets, and ensure full funding and it might have come true. At least may have come close.

It was not to be. Now the political credibility of Elizabeth has been largely spent. The sense of fair play in the country will be inclined to say, ‘we gave them their chance, they got the debate spot they have been demanding, and they couldn’t even get their leader elected’.

On balance, the bad news outweighs the good. If the GPC cannot score a by-election win soon, then they will suffer big time in the 2009 – 2010 election. It pains me to say it, but the failure was in managing expectations. Promise seats + don’t deliver = you are a failure.

17 Responses

  1. This party will help the Make -A- Wish Basis of the Mid
    Atlantic. Do not worry, the Dasha purse can be dressed up, also!
    Tim “Make It Perform” Gunn of Lifetime’s “Task Runway” returns to his native D. The issue is really should you purchase on-line or at the shopping mall?

  2. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

  3. Gday. I noticed your blog title, “Green Party 2008 Election Results. Win or Loss? | Not an Official Green Party Canada Site” does not
    really reflect the content of your website. When creating your blog title, do you think it’s best to write it for Search engine optimization or for your visitors? This is something I’ve been battling with because I want great rankings but at the same time I want the best quality for my visitors.

  4. Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog in the near
    future but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  5. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
    My website addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each
    other. If you might be interested feel free to shoot me
    an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Terrific blog by the way!

  6. DJ spins out on Saturday nights. * Team answer sheets – Basically a grid lined A4 type sheet with answer write in numbered
    boxes and a line on top for the team name. Theme Format: It is almost like standard format of
    the pub quiz.

  7. Hey! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as
    yours take a lot of work? I am brand new to operating a blog but I do write
    in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

  8. Excellent blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Appreciate it!

  9. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a
    similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything
    you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  10. Hi there, You have done a fantastic job. I will definitely digg
    it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  11. Howdy this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if
    you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so
    I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  12. With blogs like this around I don’t even need website anymore.
    I can just visit here and see all the latest happenings
    in the world.

  13. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on รถมือสอง.
    Regards

  14. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  15. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this site daily,
    this web site is actually good and the viewers are actually sharing nice thoughts.

  16. Having read this I thought it was very informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time
    both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

